In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

It is considered that the percentage of the older population will increase more than the young people in several years in some nations. I will explain in this essay why it has benefits and drawbacks that affect society for a long time.

On the one hand, there are some advantages to having more elders. First of all, old people are able to support parents and look after children when they are up to their ears in work. Not only that, it is also useful for children who are accustomed to receiving knowledge and stories from tradition. Besides that, they also have more time to engage in charity work such as gathering together in order to collect garbage. Traveling in the local area, for instance, will occasionally make the traveler lose his or her way. However, they are helped by the older generation who often take them for a walk or get exercise outside on the street.

On the other hand, they have a wide range of disadvantages. Firstly, it makes adults bear a greater financial burden when they do not have enough money or when they have many children to pay daily expenses. Additionally, it makes the government shoulder much more responsibilities because they have to pay pensions and build nursing homes to care for the older people. This leads to a higher tax burden for citizens and can put a strain on government resources. It also means that fewer resources are available to invest in education and other social services.

In conclusion, the growing rate of older people in countries like Japan is a negative development. It has an impact on a lack of labor to contribute and improve communities.