The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Violence has been a part of televisions and movies. The idea of whether the government should restrict the level of media violence has been the subject of considerable debate in the last decades. In my opinion, I partly agree that the government should take the appropriate measure to deal with media violence.

On the one hand, violent TV programs bring some benefits to society. Firstly, through watching violence on television programs and films, people can learn about the world. For example, some movies contain some violence, but they reflect things in real life. Secondly, due to the popularity of violent movies, every year a tremendous amount of tax paid from the film producers would become one of the significant contributions to the government's tax revenue. Under this circumstance, the money could be used to aid other citizens in the community who need urgent support.

On the other hand, disseminating the large unrestricted violent contents on the screen has an adverse impact on the individuals and society. For the younger generation, it would destruct their mental developments. Unlike adults, minors are often curious and keen to imitate the violent behaviors which have been sighted from TV programs, possibly they are mentally immature and incapable of distinguishing the right and wrong. For adults who lake of self-control abilities, an excessive broadcast of the violent action movies could act as their references to engage with potential criminal activities. The reason for this is that they can acquire the essential skills and experience for committing crimes. For example, a serial killer murdered more than 30 people during the period between 1993 and 2000 and claimed that a violent movie inspired him.

In conclusion, although there are some positive effects of media violence, I believe that the government should regulate and monitor violent contents in television and movies to reduce the crimes rates.