The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea of whether the government should restrict the level of media violence has been the subject of considerable debate in the last decades. In my opinion, although limiting the amount of violent film and TV programs is an excellent way to downgrade violent crimes, the key to resolve the issue is to use legislation and education methods.

On the one hand, disseminating the large unrestricted violent contents on the screen has an adverse impact on the people and society. For the younger generation, it would destruct their mental developments. Unlike adults, minors are often curious and keen to imitate the violent behaviors which have been sighted from TV programs, possibly they are mentally immature and incapable of distinguishing the right and wrong. For adults who lake of self-control abilities, an excessive broadcast of the violent action movies could act as their references to engage with potential criminal activities. For example, a serial killer murdered more than 30 people during the period between 1993 and 2000 and claimed that a violent movie inspired him.

On the other hand, banning violent films is not the best solution to reduce crime in the community. A vast amount of crimes happened definitely because criminals have never received enough education. The degree to which people are influenced by what they see in the media depends directly on how they are educated about social responsibility and personal accountability. Furthermore, a relax legal system also encourages offenders to commit a crime. Therefore, it is better to adopt a strict law system to solve and control crime problems.

In conclusion, while the government should restrict the amount of violence in the media because it is linked to crimes and social issues, I believe this is not a root solution for violent crimes. Alternatively, the government should more focus on the education of young adults and the national legal system.