Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Transport is one of the prime infrastructure that defines the development of the country. The main question arises is which mode of transport to deserves more funding. Many advocate the idea that Railways should receive the higher monetary assistance from state compared to roadways. As far as I am concerned, i disagree with this distribution as both have their own merits and should be developed equally with sufficient funds.

To begin with, Railways are cheaper add compared to other mode of transportation. In a single trip, trains are capable of carrying higher number of passengers to their destinations. As the expenses of journey gets divided among a larger group of people, fares become pretty lower, thus making it more affordable. For instance, Railway ticket cost from Mumbai to Bangalore is around rupees 500 per seat, where as buses charges rupeed 1500 per seat to its passengers for the same journey. Therefore, Railways proved to be affordable to all sections of society.

On the other hand, accessability is one of the benefit that roads have to offer. It is impossible to have a Railway Station or the airport in each and every corner of the country for trains or flights to arrive. In this scenario, roads seem to be an effective remedy. Roads can connect to the unaccessable and remote areas, thus providing better connectivity. For example, when we deboard a train on Railway station of our desired destination, still we have to hire rikshaw or taxi to reach our desires place. No trains will reach the doorstep of any home. Roadways can be a favorable choice in terms of better network.

To conclude with, as railways ate light on pockets and roads provide good affinity, both seem to be beneficial to its citizens. Therefore, it would be appropriate to have a balanced approach when state has to provide funding for the convenience of its citizens and economic development of the country.