The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that the government is wasting money and should spend more money on addressing the problems of public.

To what extent do you agree?

In present scientific world, a myriad of wealth is allocated on scientific inventions and researchers. Space exploration is a key area where legislations in various nations are spending billions of dollars every year. However, handful of individuals believe that governments have to pay attention to the existing difficulties on the earth with higher priority than space researches. I agree with the notion and upcoming paragraphs would vindicate my inclination.

The most prominent reason is from an economical point of view. The universe study employs more than half of the total money allocated for overall scientific investigation in all fields combined. For instance, as per the report published by weekly magazine in 2015, billions of dollars have been spent on the Apollo moon missions by the United States. In case, this lump sum could be used for infrastructure, education and food in poor countries, definitely the quality of life would spur up with decreasing crime rates. Moreover, instead of investing currency in space inspection the government should priorities medical research making health care accessible and far-reaching. Hence, the authorities should promote the economy of every nation.

The another reason is from a personal point of view, there is nothing individuals have gained so far from the space programmes. To exemplify, even after landing on the moon as well as sending different missions to other planets, researchers are not successful in analysing the existence of life anywhere outside the earth. However, some of the missions are successful in testing soil samples and sending pictures, which is not useful for the layman. Moreover, a lot of scientists have risked their lives during the travel to outer space. Thus, higher priority needs to be provided to existing issues in the world.

To recapitulate, by analyzing how expensive the space research is with limited success to the residents, indubitably government need to priorities to solve the existing issues on earth.