Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely accepted that the development of a nation significantly relies on its transportation system. While some people are in favor of the idea that investing money into the railway system should be prioritized by the authorities, others oppose it. In the final analysis, I strongly agree with the former view due to the reasons that will be justified in the essay.

The first reason for this is because moving from one place to another is likely to be faster. That is to say, a train system will deal with the congestion that occurs frequently on roads. For instance, with a high speed, train passengers easily get around the country via available routes. In addition to the above, I also believe that using the railway network is considered to safer than road vehicles. To put it simply, the carriage of a huge passengers and several hundred tonnes of goods by train may limit dangerous risks. One clear example is that the number of road accidents in many countries are much higher than that of the railway casualties.

The argument in favor of roads investment would be that road transport has flexibility in time. With road vehicles, drivers will not depend on the specified time. However, I believe that it is an imprudent investment. Railway network will definitely bring higher profits and productivity if governments invest.

In conclusion, despite some arguments, I strongly believe that governments should focus on building more railway station and limit road transportations.