With growing population in cities, more and more people live in a home with small or no outdoor areas. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, society has witnessed overpopulation in urban areas leading to increases in the number of individuals living in accommodations with small or no outdoor spaces. From my perspectives, although doing this has several certain advantages, the drawbacks may be far more significant.

On the one hand, it can be seen that some minor benefits of spending life in small houses are counted. One possible advantage is that living in a home with little space can be admitted as an economic solution for non-enough-income families. As a result, people would save money because they rent accommodations at an adorable price in the city centre; therefore, they can spend these savings on other human’s demands. Another beneficial effect could be that having a life in a small house gives people a chance to strengthen the relationship and the coziness between members of their family. In fact, every single person meets each other more frequently, therefore, they have time for gathering and sharing a plenty of things in their daily life.

Nevertheless, the fact that living in a home with small and no outdoor space can have major downsides which overshadow these positive impacts. The most obvious issue could be that physical health problems would emerge in people who live in limited surroundings. It is a matter of fact, the lack of outdoor space affects the cross-ventilation in the room which leads to respiration disorders. Moreover, individuals living in this kind of housing are unable to do any outdoor activities; as a consequence, this limitation causes an increase in obesity cases and even cardiovascular-related diseases. The second drawback is worth mentioning could show living in those atmospheres for a long time somehow influences the mental health of human beings. To be specific, a living environment that lacks of sunlight and natural air can make people feel suffocated; consequently, this causes an increase in the likelihood of depression and thereby a decrease in work efficiency. Another adverse impact could be that multiple-generation families living in small and narrow accommodations would usually face the starvation of privacy for each member. The children, for instance, might be hard to get a serene environment for conducting their own studies.

To sum up, although spending life in a small accommodation has some potential benefits for any-income families, however, in terms of a healthy lifestyle, the negative effects on material and spiritual living are more meaningful towards the acceptance from each individual.