Happiness is often considered difficult to define.Why is this ? What factors determine happiness?

Defining cheerfulness is sometimes regarded laborious because its requirements vary from one individual to another. Without a doubt, the majority of people would like to be happy in their lives. Furthermore, happiness is a prerequisite to people's quality of life. However, there are various factors which considered being crucial in achieving happiness.

Contentment means something different to each person. Moreover, each individual has different goals, ambitions, and personalities. For example, some people feel satisfied by earning money or get promoted to a higher position in their careers, while others achieve pleasure by having a well-being family and the ability to put food on the table. In other words, a sense of security is being felt when a person is financially stable and has the ability to meet the basic needs which, as a result, fulfill happiness. Other people think of bliss intellectually such as, the excitement of new experiences, or the delight of a fine meal, or the feeling of freedom; consequently, all these experiences can be a definition of pleasure to one person but won't be cherished by another.

Giving a precise definition of happiness maybe difficult but, obviously, not impossible as most people would agree that there are some basic conditions to achieving it. First of all, it's certainly hard for an individual to feel happy without having the basic survival needs, for instance, a safe roof to live under and enough food to eat. Secondly, the greatest joy in life is found in shared experiences with family and friends, and it is uncommon to find a person, who is isolated and lonely, to be content in life. Finally, some people find joy by helping others and participate in volunteer work which leads them to feel blissful. Most importantly, being well pleased in life is the key to being happy.

As has been said, happiness is a foremost essential part of our lives and it is hard to maintain it because it is particular to each person; therefore, having the basic needs for food, company and shelter need to be fulfilled before experiencing it.