If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the young of the family bear legal accountability of caring for the elderly that have no more capability of fending for themselves. From my perspective, I oppose this assertion due to the lack of younger members’ care and the presence of nursing homes.

To begin with, the viewpoint of young family members being mandated to assist their elderly relatives is objected to because of their insufficient ability of looking after. In effect, each household’s circumstances and capacities vary significantly. For example, some young family members are low or middle income earners, which increase their financial burdens and fail to give their parents alternative treatment. Furthermore, to integrate the fast pace of life, most young members have to bury themselves into work, which they cannot spend quality time with their old family members. As a result, the elderly cannot receive holistic support, and it might increase their sense of isolation.

Additionally, the existence of nursing homes is aimed at the complex senior care if their children are not able to provide. In a nursing home, all your loved one’s needs are met, regardless of the time of the day. High quality nursing facilities make them feel safe and comfortable with the homelike setting. They can also participate in in-house activities such as crafts, fitness and entertainment, and befriend other people. Therefore, not only seniors become more jovial, but young family members are assisted to take care of their parents.

In conclusion, young family members should not be in charge of looking after seniors legitimately. It is because of their inadequate care provision and nursing homes ubiquity.