The Impact of the Interner on Kids

The development of technology gave us vast access to the Internet. The modern era is mainly occupied by computers and the internet that gave us a convenient living. Making our life more organized, systematic, simple, efficient, and hassle-free.

The internet plays a significant part in making our lives more efficient, however, the presence of the internet can enslave the current generation of children if unattended by their parents or guardian. Pew Research Centre has proven that 60% of kids are on the internet everyday and over the last decade the percentage of kids in social media rises to 20%. There is a risk that should be considered for kids who are using the internet. They are vulnerable to different kinds of influences the internet may bring. It affects their vision and increases fat that can lead to obesity. Sitting long hours staring at the screen lessened their physical activity and barely make time to play outdoors. As a result, they don’t interact more with other people that can affect their social skills making them introverted. It can also affect the growth of the child that can lead to future complications. Setting specific downtime for gadgets and balancing their activities will be useful in forming their holistic being.

The privileges internet provide us since the day it was invented was indeed remarkable. It will imprint in our history and continue to advance as generations pass by. However, the drawbacks can damage life if isolated with children’s maintenance only. The elder around them is responsible for providing the right usage of the internet.