An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Many schools are increasingly opting for e-learning techniques for students, replacing traditional ways of teaching with digital devices. This essay will discuss the main benefits including easy access to material and Long assignments. It will also explain the main drawbacks including eyesight problems and physical inactivity.

The negative side of adopting technology in schools is that, looking at the screen for hours will cause weak eyesight issues in some students. To further elaborate the point, it is because of the rays coming out from the devices screen will have an effect of blurry vision in most student eyes. In addition to this, sitting for a long period of time in front of the computers will have physical health problems. For example, in the UK, many children complained to their parents that their eyes are in pain because of the excessive use of tablets in the school. Therefore, these drawbacks should be considered before initiating such step.

Although these crucial drawbacks are there, but it has many benefits also. While students will be able to access their study material easily in form of softcopies, they will also have the benefit of not carrying their books with them. Furthermore, they will be able to do their lengthy assignments in a very short period of time by just typing into the computer, which they used to write before with hands. For instance, a recent study showed that, those who study on their laptops perform better than those following traditional method because of its ease of use. Due to these reasons, it is important that all schools should update their method of teaching.

In conclusion, rising number of institutions are giving laptops and other devices to students, which can enhance study by replacing traditional ways of learning. This essay discussed the positives including easily accessible material and achieving task in less time. Whereas, it also explained the negative aspects including less activity and weak eyesight. In my opinion, schools should follow this technique of teaching because it results in more benefits.