With the increasing use of and development of new technology, many machines are now able to do the work which people use to perform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

At the mercy of the ever accelerated updating of science and technology, there are rapid changes in all aspects of our everyday life, for example, machinery. People prefer to employ machines to do work. Does this trend make our life better or worse?

There are absolutely many advantages of this situation. Firstly, some repetitive tasks that performed by machines are more efficient and accurate than performed by humans. For example, photocopiers are able to produce hundreds of copies of documents without any errors within just 10 seconds. It is a much better way than writing the same document by hands. Also, machines are capable of doing exhausting work that people used to do. Unlike in the old days, washing machines are now employed to do laundry instead of hand washing. These machines shorten the time that people spend in housework or others, thus, people can save their time to relax.

However, the extensive use of machines brings drawbacks in the meantime. To start with, it may consume a large amount of electricity or gas. Nowadays, people prefer to use dish-washing machines because they are efficient and convenient. However, it is undeniable that the electricity and water for running dish-washing machines are much more than hand wash. It leads to a large amount of resource wastage. And the machines need a large amount of money for maintenance, too. Besides, if people completely rely on those machines, they could lose the ability of working. If this continues, there will be more people who are jobless because of them in the future.

From the discussion above, the invention of machines definitely brings convenient to our lives. But in the meantime, there are disadvantages that we cannot neglect. Only if the machines are properly utilized, can our lives benefit from them.