Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the industrialization and modernization make our life more comfortable and more convenient. However, it is also causes many serious problems related to environment such as air pollution, historic floods, ecosystems damage, etc. And it is believed that only governments and large companies can take to improve the environment and it means individuals are unable to do. I personally disagree with this with several reasons.

On the one hand, the governments keep a vital role to solve this problem. For instance, the strict laws are enforced by government to ban deforestation which result in landslides and historic floods, and promulgate laws that forbid the emission of waste from factories released directly into the air and water resource. Besides that, the government are able to use social budget for environment protection by planning trees along roads and organizing many programmes to raise the public awareness. Cooperating with governments to solve this issue effectively, the large companies can do several typical ways such as constructing the waste treatment systems before releasing waste water into the river or the sea; the enterprises are able to use green energy so that the natural resources unbecome exhausted.

On the other hand, the actions of individuals can give the positive impacts on this problem. When they know that the polluted environment affects their life and their health, they will turn on activism to protect environment from pollution. For example, they plan the trees around their surrounding, clear the streets or pick up litters. They also gradually change habits in shopping by using bio plastic bags.

In conclusion, I disagree that individuals do nothing to keep the nature clean and green. Dealing with environment problems needs cooperation between government and individuals. One of the best ways is the governments should issue policies to encourage the engagement of people. This will help lo lessen the pressure on the governments and raise the public awareness of protecting and improving the environment.