Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the personal contribution to the improvements of environmental issues will not bring about as much significant effects as the authorities and big businesses. From my point of view, despite the breakthrough of national solutions for this problem, I still maintain that individuals play an essential role in protecting the environment.

To begin with, personal efforts together can reduce the amount of plastic waste as well as save natural resources in daily life activities to improve the surroundings. Firstly, it is fundamental to limit the use of plastic leading to global warming. In fact, plastic takes from 10 to 100 years to decompose completely and has a lot of harmful effects on the natural habitat. Therefore, the combination of conscious individuals will greatly diminish the amount of plastic waste in the environment. Furthermore, people can also cut the indiscriminate use of vital resources. For example, to sustain the existence of wildlife, to rationally use fossil fuels such as coal and oil to improve soil and air pollution leading to their extinction.

On the other hand, the environmental issues can be quickly handled by effective government policies and large companies. On the government side, a number of prohibitive laws as well as environmental protection policies can be enacted to raise public awareness in environmental protection. For example, in Canada, every citizen who throws garbage indiscriminately will receive a large fine and community service to clean the streets for 1 week. As a result, since the enactment of the law, the country has significantly reduced the amount of litter on the streets. On the businesses side, the application of environmental protection policies has created significant achievements affecting people's shopping habits. One other example, Big C Thang Long supermarket chain uses biodegradable bags instead of plastic bags to limit the amount of plastic waste released into the environment and it has brought unexpected effects.

In conclusion, one's efforts to improve the environment are considered insignificant, but they play an important role in a larger context. It is suggestible that the close cooperation between individuals and government as well as large enterprise can get desirable achievements in the near future.