The international community must act immediately to ensure that all countries reduce their consumption of fossil fuels, such as gas and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The consumption of fossil fuel is a global concern for the reason that it has negative effects on the environment. It is axiomatic that every nation must work together immediately to reduce its usage. I believe that the international community should reinforce this in order to reach the best results.

Undoubtedly, the use of fossil fuels, such as gas and oil have been long damaging the world's natural resources. This phenomenon is a worldwide concern since the effect is not confined to a local area alone. For instance, the use of coal in major industries releases noxious gases that reach the earth’s atmosphere thereby damaging the ozone layer. Scientists have been studying, that over time these substances released into the environment causes the thinning of the ozone layer. The ozone layer protects the earth from ultraviolet radiation from the sun, and once this is damaged it will cause increased heat and temperature affecting the health of humans and animals on the entire planet. If this won’t be intervened upon by proper authorities the effects would be tremendous and could possibly lead to irreversible damages.

Moreover, the reduction of fossil fuels can help in mitigating climate change. This is secondary from the fact that the use of this source of energy has consequences to nature. For example, the use of oil as a non-renewable source of energy releases waste into the environment affecting the climate in the long run. This scenario proves that if countries would have an agreement about the usage of sources of energy, they can create a massive positive effect on our planet. Thus it should be encouraged that international organizations raise awareness in all countries.

An international concern, especially environmental issues, needs a worldwide effort in order to have successful results. Planning should be initiated by the international community and other non-governmental organizations to coordinate all nations in working toward an end-goal, which is the reduction of fossil fuel use. These plans could include having international conventions to discuss researches on other sources of energy or providing financial assistance to implement programs regarding this concern.

All in all, it’s necessary that everyone should take part in the reduction of the use of fossil fuels because the effects are damaging the planet and putting all living things at risk.