The internet has vastly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent times, our knowledge about the world has been greatly updated due to the advent of the internet. Although there are some downfalls of this development, I believe it is a great achievement of the human being till that date.

There are some concerns about the easy availability of the internet. First and foremost is that cyber crimes are more prevalent because of the internet. Hackers easily steal important information about technology, which may be used for dangerous purposes such as the hacking of nuclear technology by some countries may become a cause of the destruction of the world. Another reason is that the privacy of individuals might be breached due to the advancement of the internet. For instance, posting photos online on social media such as Facebook and Instagram increase people's vulnerability to exposure to threads. Thus, freely web surfing has some dangerous aspects.

However, there are a number of reasons why this development has significant advantages. First of all, by sharing information by intelligence agencies, crimes can be reduced and surveillance technology can be improved to a great extent. For example, borders can be regulated by security cameras for intruders. Apart from this, the internet is also necessary for imparting education to the masses who live in any corner of the world. By web conferencing technique, lectures and seminars are easily conducted in many regions virtually. Finally, placing an order for different things through the internet becomes less costly after the advent of Amazon. Hence, it is clear it is beneficial in many ways.

In conclusion, while the internet has some drawbacks, their uses outweigh their disadvantages. Therefore, I argue that information sharing through the internet is a milestone for human prosperity.