It is certainly difficult for people in cities to do physical exercise. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that urban lifestyle often results in people being less active. There are a number of reasons for this but also there are some potential solutions to this problem.

To begin with, city life is expensive and people spend most their day working to provide their needs. Therefore, they do not have enough time or energy to work out after a long day at work. For instance, when I was working in Istanbul, I would leave at 7 am to go to work and I came back home at 8 pm feeling exhausted. A great way to solve this problem is that companies could install fitness centres at the workplace for employees. So people can exercise during their lunch break and this would be beneficial for employees as well as the company since exercising improves productivity.

Time is not the only limitation city dwellers face. In urban areas, they also lack space to exercise. People who live in the countryside can go for a walk or run in nature surrounding them without the interference of traffic or other dangers. Unfortunately, this is not possible for people living in cities. In my city, for example, there are no public parks or frosted area where citizens can work out. To solve this issue governments should invest money in building more open areas and facilities within the cities to encourage locals to spend more time active.

In conclusion, people in cities do not exercise enough due to limitations of time and space. However, governments and employers can solve this problem by building facilities where people can exercise.