It is difficult for people in the cities getting enough physical exercise. What are the causes and solutions?

It is true that people in urban regions are being prone to being couch potatoes and lazy sloths due to their lack of regular exercise. This can be explained by some reasons, and solutions can be taken to eliminate the problem.

Two reasons are to blame for this trend. Firstly, the hectic schedule that many people are having pressurizes them into the vortex of work and study, depriving of their time for sufficient exercise. Children have to occupy themselves with school assignments and examinations while employees have to attend frequent meetings with customers to secure contracts. These activities detach modern people from non-work and non-study activities, so they tend to prioritize physical activities less. Secondly, people in the cities would lack the facilities to practice sports or other healthy activities. There are few parks, and if there are any, there are only some horizontal bars or parallel bars, which are not adequate to accommodate the needs of every citizen.

Some measures should be taken to address the issue, and schools, companies, and the government should provide education or hold social campaigns to yield desirable outcomes. As for schools, they should be responsible for instilling in children a sense of health awareness and necessary background health-related knowledge. For instance, children should be motivated to be proactive in keeping fit and staying healthy by the inclusion of more physical education classes. Besides, companies should give their staff more flexi-time or sponsor gym membership for them. As for the governments, they can run some social campaigns to encourage the citizens to maintain health via TV programs or banners on the street. Besides, more funds should be allocated to the construction of sports facilities in the cities.

In conclusion, people have a tendency to do sports or other physical activities less. However, efforts can be taken by both schools and governments to deal with this situation.

It has been widespread knowledge that a sedentary lifestyle is often associated with numerous deadly diseases, putting hundreds of millions of individuals’ lives at risk. Despite this, urban dwellers find it almost impossible to get an adequate workout to stay in shape. While several triggers are lying behind this problem, many reliable methods can be applied to tackle it.

On the one hand, this disturbing reality is rooted in two main reasons. To begin with, it is due to the work commitment that workers cannot get enough physical exercise. Metropolises have always been a great attraction in terms of job opportunities and living conditions to job seekers and dwellers. However, in such places, to find a well-paying job is usually a daunting and challenging task, let alone to secure career prospects. Thus, employees must devote themselves to their career and burn the midnight oil, leaving no spare time for other activities, including physical exercise. Besides, technology addiction has driven city dwellers out of taking exercise. In today’s digital age, individuals tend to indulge in virtual entertainment such as online games because of its visual and mental satisfaction. Since such virtual activities are thought to be highly addictive and time-consuming, the more time they spend on them, the more dependent they become and therefore the more likely they are to neglect other leisure activities, such as physical ones.

On the other hand, however, there are still many feasible solutions to this issue. First, governing bodies do need to introduce new laws and directives on working time which reduce the weekly working hours to an acceptable amount. By doing so, working staff will have more time for leisure pursuits, increasing the probability that people will join in physical activities, which, in turns, improves work-life balance. Second, developing and integrating new software that encourages users to take exercise can also help alleviate such a problem. For instance, many android applications are functioning as a personal assistant that reminds users about when to take exercise as well as measures their heart rate, anticipating any health-related issues. Thus, these applications can perhaps help raise users’ awareness about the necessity of taking exercise and develop a habit of a regular workout.

In conclusion, though it may have several root causes of this trouble, various attainable measures can be taken to eradicate it. Tough as it might seem for some citizens at first, the outcomes of such methods worth efforts.