It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, some individuals believe that there are no momentous reasons to save rare animals from species extinction. From my perspective, I comprehensively dissent from this outlook owing to the responsibility of human beings and biodiversity.

On the one hand, the primary reason for protecting rare animals is the vital roles they play in not just the balance of the ecosystem but also in people’s lives. Everything within nature is interconnected, if one animal becomes extinct, the food chain would be disrupted, affecting a multitude of other animals, even plants. For example, black rat snakes are predators of mice and rats, in the interim, they are preys to red-tailed hawks and owls. In a field, the herd of mice is always in control thanks to snakes; however, the number of snakes plummet drastically because of hunting activity, as a result, rats wreak havoc on crops, while hawks starve to death due to the lack of food. Furthermore, people’s destiny is intimately linked to the fate of other living beings and the world around them since they are a part of nature. Therefore, the disorder caused by the utter disappearances of endangered animals influences enormously on people’s standard lives.

In addition, protecting animals on the verge of extinction is an obvious duty of people based on the immense impact they did. Time has proven the enormous influence that humans have on the earth, particularly on animals. To date, the inexorable expansion of human residence, particularly for cultivation and settlement, has resulted in the loss of animal habitats for hundreds of years. Illegal hunting for earning purposes is driving a myriad of species to extinction or putting them in great jeopardy. As a result, it is critical that humans are held accountable for rectifying the problem and dealing with the repercussions.

In conclusion, although humans are not to blame for the extinction of many prehistoric animals, extinction would be their responsibility if they did not shield live species now.