Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that with the development of electrical divides, public libraries now become unnecessary and should be replaced by computer technology. In this essay, we could take a close look at both aspects before demonstrating that public libraries are an essential feature of society setting and could not be removed.

Computers have shaped our life since they have become public in early 2000s. Major of population have personal computers, laptops and smart divides which are connected to the internet, applying us to access to the free information conveniently. So, e-book and online resources have sprung up as a trend of society development. Because of that, sharing, searching and reading digital resources by using computer technology have become easier and faster. However, computers could be hacked easily. By opening a file with the included harmful codes could destroy your databases or expose your personal information such as: bank account, your e-mail password and so on. Besides that, there are an array of distractions could interrupt us from reading and the bad materials affect the young generations negatively.

On the other hand, as the basic function of library is to store the information, the public libraries provide both safely physical and digital resources. In fact, there are some people who tend to read e-books, whereas, the others still enjoy physical books. While books are getting expensive, libraries apply the equal access for poor person and improve their education. On top of that, the library resources seem to be safer than the online resources, providing readers a good environment to do their work without any harms or distractions.

In summary, public libraries have played an irreplaceable role in our society setting and could not be replaced by computer technology