Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, the issue centering on technology has triggered a heated debate and it has been discussed by many people. In certain developing countries, computers are becoming a common way for people to access information.

Many people argue that with the introduction of computers, the authorities should not waste time on the maintenance of public libraries. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement because of some below reasons.

To begin with, the idea of maintaining the existence of libraries is beneficial. The library will always be the source of vast knowledge so that computers and the Internet could never replace them. The libraries are funded by the government in order to educate their citizens as these are considered calm and quiet places to learn. This is perfectly exemplified in the case of senior citizens who are much concerned about libraries and come to the library regularly in order to update their knowledge about their surroundings. Indeed, there have been some recorded instances of people who preferred to study in the libraries as they feel connected to themselves being in the concentrated environment. As a result, these few instances make it clear that the role of libraries even in the modern era of scientific inventions would be worthwhile in many ways.

The second reason why there are certain roles of traditional libraries that computers cannot take over. Library users have access to more reliable sources of information. A great deal of online content we have today, meanwhile, is not censored, which possibly leads to a misinformed public. For example, people who wrote any news and uploaded it for their own interest. After that, if readers inadvertently access such misinformation, it could be the cause of misbehavior. Therefore, public libraries are necessary and should be maintained by the government.

In conclusion, this essay argued that people who have favored the extinction of libraries have a flawed understanding because both have their own unique roles.