Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

There are some controversial perspectives heating a debate over the fact that an enormous amount of commodity is imported by a wealth of nations from distinct sectors in the world. Obviously, this phenomenon has both pros and cons, yet the advantages still outweigh its counterpart.

Nowadays, with the prominence of trading goods, importation plays a paramount role in our daily life in each country. By supplying various kinds of food, the food shortage is gradually diminished. In fact, in some countries, not only unsuitable weather conditions but also barren soil prevent peasants from cultivating some certain food, thus importation is an optimal way to solve the problem. Singapore can be cited as underlying and convincing example. Moreover, the more sources of intake are transported to a country the more choices customers have. Now, buyers are able to taste a bunch of different food with a wide range of prices. Therefore, all walks of life could afford the foods.

While the redeeming features of food imported are widely acknowledged, the downside of that still linger. As the matter of course, conveying food over distinct nations can have adverse impacts on the environment. Since almost imported goods is shipped by planes or trains which are powered by conventional energies such as coal, gas,… massive exhaust emissions are created and directly released to environment. Thus, it escalates the contamination of air quality.

In conclusion, although importing food from other countries wreak havoc on environmental quality, it is undisputable that the tremendous benefits it brings can tackle acute shortage of food and offer customers more choices. However, I believe that eco-friendly means of transportation should be applied to reduce the air pollution.