In many countries, more and more young people are leaving school and unable to find jobs after graduation. What problems do you think youth unemployment will cause to the individual and society? Give reasons and make some suggestions.

There is growing concern over increasing unemployment of youngsters due to leaving school early. There are several reasons and issues behind the phenomenon which will be elaborated below.

High rate of unemployment would have negative impacts on the unemployed themselves, economy and society in many ways. As people can not land a job, they are unable to make a living and support their families. The role of helping these individuals then fall on the authorities, who have to allocate national fund for the individuals. This creates a heavy burden on budget of nations. Secondly, low level workforce would result in low productivity and efficiency of countries, thereby reducing the national output which in turn impedes prosperity of nations. More importantly, given people’s in ability to be employed, they could become vulnerable and participate in social evils such as drugs or thefts.

The labour intensive economy is consistently replaced by knowledge-based economy. This stems from the fact that automation and new technology nowadays can replace traditional position of labor. Because of this, organisations tend to favor job applicant with high education which is a reflection of one’s base of professional knowledge. That is why people, who do not have qualifications would lose employment opportuinites to their more well-educated counterparts.

To tackle the challenge, governments could launch programmes to raise awareness of citizens over the role of education in their future. Likewise, additional education should be introduced to provide the unprivileged with study opportunities. Therefore, the less advantaged could have a chance to seek better jobs and be able to strip themselves off poverty.

In the light of these facts, unemployment is caused by changes in the nature of economics which could lead to personal, economic, and societal problems. Political leaders should interfere with supportive educational programmes.