In many countries, more and more young people are leaving school and unable to find jobs after graduation. What problems do you think youth unemployment will cause to the individual and society? Give reasons and make some suggestions.

There has been an increase in the unemployment rate among the young in various countries, which has stirred up great concerns. This essay will discuss the problems as well as possible solutions for this issue.

As a matter of fact, the rise in youth unemployment is going to negatively affect a country in many aspects. First, the short-term and long-term effect on the national economy is inevitable. The fact that the most potent generation cannot contribute would be an immediate loss. Meanwhile, an aging workforce is going to be an imminent problem with insufficient supply of young power. From an individual perspective, one who fails to find a job may suffer from stress stemming from family and peer pressure. In extreme cases, this can even lead to depression and deaths. Examples have been set in Japan, where a small proportion of jobless young adults, called hikikomori, refuse communication with the outside world and have to rely on their families or social assistance.

In order to address the issue, various strategies can be adopted. Firstly, to increase the rate of employment, one has to be trained or educated properly. Many countries, especially in Africa, need to raise their citizen’s awareness of the importance of education so as to decrease the school dropout rate. Secondly, governments should subsidize vocational training programs for youngsters to enhance their skill sets. Moreover, from an individual point of view, parental support is crucial in guiding the young generation on correct career paths. It has been proven that students who receive mental guidance and support from their parents stand a higher chance in success later in life.

In conclusion, high youth unemployment is going to have detrimental effects on the economy and social situation of a country. In the fight against unemployment amongst youngsters, both governmental and parental support are urgently needed to ensure the future of the young.