In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

In this contemporary society, overworking has been claimed to increase significantly in many countries. There are many reasons behind this recent trend, and my firm conviction is that this is more likely to bring about negative consequences to people.

One of the main roots that lead to overtime working is the financial burden in daily life. It is widely considered that the more time workers spend working, the higher salaries they can earn to improve their personal life. If money is not received enough to cover all the living expenses and private demands, people can easily face anxiety and stressful disorders, which is definitely a nightmare to them. Moreover, in this competitive condition of workforce, engaging as many time at work as possible is an direct way for workers to achieve higher promotion. It is human who always wants to stand in higher place and recieve respect of other employees. For example, my cousin once said that the reason why he regularly spent almost a day at work when he was young was he wanted to increase his position to manager. Hence, hard- working performance can create opportunities for people to achieve their promotional dream.

However, although there are many judicious factors support overkorking, several related-drawbacks can threaten humans. Firstly, weakening in health is what overtime working is all about. People who engage many hours at work can lose energy and persistence, they face chronic fatigue syndrome, headache, irrigation, negatively affecting their health conditions. Secondly, spending more time at work means less time for families. In addition to that, many issues such as divorce, domestic violence can appear due to poor connection between family members.

Taking everything into consideration, there are many contributors such as salaries, promotion that tempt people to spend time working harder. However, due to many health and family-related problems , i incline this trend as a negative development.