In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water pollution and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

ollowing the onset of industrialisation and the sustained urban growth of large population centres in England, the buildup of waste in the cities caused a rapid deterioration in levels of sanitation" title="sanitation" style="color: rgb(11, 0, 128); background-image: none;">sanitation and the general quality of urban life. The streets became choked with filth due to the lack of waste clearance regulations.[9] Calls for the establishment of a municipal authority with waste removal powers occurred as early as 1751, when Corbyn Morris in london proposed that "... as the preservation of the health of the people is of great importance, it is proposed that the cleaning of this city, should be put under one uniform public management, and all the filth be...conveyed by the Thames to proper distance in the country".[10]

However, it was not until the mid-19th century, spurred by increasingly devastating cholera outbreaks and the emergence of a public health debate that the first legislation on the issue emerged. Highly influential in this new focus was the report The Sanitary Condition of the Labouring Populationin 1842[11] of the social reformer, Edwin Chadwick, in which he argued for the importance of adequate waste removal and management facilities to improve the health and wellbeing of the city's population.

In the UK, the Nuisance removal and Disease Prevention act of 1846 began what was to be a steadily evolving process of the provision of regulated waste management in london. The Metropolitan Board of Works was the first citywide authority that centralized sanitation regulation for the rapidly expanding city and the public health act 1875" style="color: rgb(11, 0, 128); background-image: none;">public health act 1875 made it compulsory for every household to deposit their weekly waste in "moveable receptacles" for disposal—the first concept for a dust-bin.[12]