In many countries today respect is shown to older people.

What do you think may be the reasons for this?

What problems might this cause in society?

In much of the world, particularly Asia countries, older people are respected. This essay will discuss the reasons behind and problms the trend may lead to.

Showing respect toward seniors is deep-rooted culture in many countries. During its long history, humanities have found respecting older people a habit redounding to the advantage of the whole group. It frees community members from the worry that they will be foresaked by their adult children when becoming old and frail. And hence, our forebears called it a virtue and eastablished it as an essential part of the culture that still prevail in many parts of the world.

But the culture brings demerits. Nations under the dominance of the senior culture are often adopt a seniority-based system, that is to say, they always put the elderly in the driving seat and devalue young people, however well is their performance. Such a system is obviously less effecient than a preformance-based one. As seniors have priority in almost everything, the last thing for young people to make persistent efforts to innovate and the first thing for them is to manage to finish assigned tasks.

Certainly, respecting seniors is a virtue. On the other hand, the prevalence of such a culture may result in an ineffective system. We should adopt a performance-based system while retain the culture.