Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While utilitarians argue that college should only offer to students subjects highly relevant to employment, like Computer, Mechanism and Medicine, I believe that students are ought to be free in the acquisition of knowledge.

such restrictions bring a great merit at first sight. They compel students to focus on practical subjects. As a result, college students are more likely to delve deep in the subjects they engage in and grow into technically better practitioners, for instance, a doctor better informed about the development of disease research. However, if you scratch the face, you will find the confinement comes with disadvantages. It would cause college to produce students insufficient, not in quantities but in varieties. Perhaps industries regarding a handful of subjects constitute the pillar of national economy, but a health and sustainable economy is composed of much more additional sectors, like farming, animal feeding and so on. We need universities produce talents specialized in such areas, in addition to programmers, lawyers, etc.

University students should not be limited in pursuit of knowledge. The most important reason is that young people need to try a wide range of subjects before finding out what they really want to do. One cannot arrive at the answer immediately; they, in most cases, obtain it through patient efforts. If access to less practical subjects is limited, chance is little for students to figure out what really interest them.

In conclusion, college students should not be limited from learning whatever they like, despite the benefits it may bring.