Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit this historical sites and museums?

It is undoubtedly true that historical places and museums are noticeably preferred by tourists rather than local natives. There are manifold reasons why locals are not attracted to history and museums. However, multiple solutions can be taken by the government authority to solve this issue.

On the one hand, one obvious reason, why people do not like their local history and museum places is that they are familiar with their culture, tradition, and history. To elaborate, individuals are aware of their country's history, and they already follow their culture as well as celebrate traditional festivals. So, they thoroughly experience their surroundings because of this they might not visit sites of history and artifacts of the museum. Moreover, another reason is that these places charge expensive entry fees, which can be not affordable for all citizens and this mainly happens to poor communities. Consequently, half of the country's people are not aware of certain history and festivals.

On the other hand, the government can take manifold steps to encourage local people. Firstly, they can organize events or exhibitions which may attract the populace to see history and local museums. In other words, if historical places and museums organize different kinds of events, programs, and exhibitions on distinct themes or decorations then individuals like to be interested in it. Secondly, the government should give a discount or free tickets on entry fees which may help certain people who are not able to afford it. As a result, it is beneficial for this community or people.

In recapitulation, Foreigners are eager to know about different cultures and histories while locals take a keen interest. So, the government encourages them by creating and celebrating multiple events and traditions in museums or historical sites.