Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the phenomenon of museums’ admission fees and its corresponding impacts have sparked massive debates. In this regard, apart from remarkable benefits of paying money to enter museums, some people believe that admission of museums must be free. In my view, charging people to visit museums can benefit both historical objects and museums together, although we shouldn’t lose sight of the others’ opinion.

Obviously, to visit a considerable number of museums around the world, individuals have to purchase tickets of certain amount of money. These admission fees could spend on many different purposes. For example, museums can support new archaeological excavations to unearth new historical objects. In addition, funds which gather based on these fees pave the way for museums to recruit experts to rehabilitate damaged objects.

Moreover, charging people to enter museums also benefits the museum itself. Doing some refurbishments in museums’ buildings and construction of extra facilities for visitors could be possible via entrance charges. What’s more, authorities of museums should not neglect to security of buildings, thus spending a little proportion of entrance fees on installing more secure equipment to protect historical objects of exhibitions seems sensible decision.

On the other hand, others are of the opinion that individuals must not pay fees to visit galleries and museums. They claim that youths will encourage to spend more time on visiting museums if they don’t need to pay for admission. Consequently, it is likely that they will be more interested in their own traditions and historical periods, and more familiar with other nations’ cultures. Likewise, through visiting museums, a number of teenagers would be convinced to pursue such disciplines as history and archaeology for their future educations.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I am inclined to support the idea that the merits of charging people for museums’ admission far outweigh its downsides. We can ponder about which one is more sensible: paying $10 to eat a burger in an evening for pleasure while you are not so hungry or to visit marvelous objects of the ancients?