In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that cities have been witnessing an upswing in smaller families and one-person household while the extended family is becoming a rarity. From my perspective, this phenomenon can be directly attributed to improvements in living standards and the privacy, and I deem this trend as negative.

As family become smaller, the traditional lifestyles is disappearing and this can have a negative impact on children as they grow up. In nuclear family or single-parent household, childcare becomes an expensive and stressful part of daily life. Without help of grandparents, busy parent must rely on babysitters to take care of younger children. Because of hectic, fast- paced lifestyle, the older children me be left alone after school or during holidays. The absence of adult family members can mean that friends, internet become the primary influences on children’s behaviour. It is no surprise that the decline of the extended family has been linked to a rise in physical and mental health problems among young people.

The trend towards people living alone is perhaps even more damaging because of the psychological effects of reduced human interaction. People who living alone have nobody to talk, so they cannot share problems or discuss the highs and lows of daily life. Moreover, The lack of human contact is necessarily replaced by passive distractions, such as mobile phone, video games, internet surfing. For example, nowadays it is undeniable that individuals after work they have been caught up in their mobile devices without spending time to their family.

In conclusion, the disadvantages reaped from choosing leave alone or in such small family is unavoidable. I believe that individuals thrive when they are part of larger family groups.