In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that cities have been witnessing an upswing in smaller families and one-person households while the extended family is becoming a rarity. From my perspective, this phenomenon is directly related to better living standards and privacy, and I deem it to be a negative trend.

When a family becomes smaller, traditional lifestyles are disappearing, which can negatively impact children. In a nuclear family or single-parent household, childcare becomes an expensive and stressful part of daily life. A busy parent must rely on babysitters when they do not have grandparents to help with their younger children. Because of a hectic, fast-paced lifestyle, older children must be left alone after school or during the holidays. The absence of adult family members can mean that friends and the internet become the primary influences on children’s behaviour. It is no surprise that the decline of the extended family has been linked to a rise in physical and mental health problems among young people.

The trend towards people living alone is perhaps even more damaging because of the psychological effects of reduced human interaction. People who live alone have nobody to talk to, so they cannot share problems or discuss the highs and lows of daily life. Furthermore, the lack of human contact is accompanied by passive distractions, such as mobile phones, video games, and browsing the Internet. The fact that people are absorbed in their mobile devices after work is undeniable, for instance, makes it impossible for them to spend time with their families.

In conclusion, leaving alone or with such a small family entails disadvantages. I believe that individuals thrive when they are part of larger family groups.