Many people believe that social networking gives a negative impact on individual and society

Since the advent of social media, the average screen time per person has increased up to 3 times. It is often argued that social networking websites have detrimental effects on our daily lives such as health problems, lack of time management, lack of privacy, and many more. While on the contrary, for some it is their main source of income. In my opinion, it majorly primarily depends on person to person, as long as someone knows how to handle hatred and curb on using the social platforms curb their usage of whenever necessary.

On one hand, social media addiction is like binge eating, it has long-term effects on both mental and physical health. The ones who take hate comments seriously are primarily affected by psychological distress such as depression and anxiety. Consequently, they are not able to concentrate on their job or education, hence their productivity and energy levels decrease exponentially. A study was conducted by the New York times which has predicted that folks who spend almost 1/8th of their time on social media have posture and obesity complications. It is shaping our next generation, as most of the teenagers day in and day out consume the toxic content available online, which might give repercussions to the entire world. Last but not the least, ample amounts of people are losing their jobs just because they have posted some bad comments on any professional networking platform.

On the other hand, we are more connected to the world. Even though we are physically not present, but we can connect with our family and friends at any given time. Secondly, many people earn from social media by writing bogs, putting videos on the topic that they are passionate about, companies give advertisement to enhance their product sales. Lastly, altogether we can fight for social justice and environmental issues.

To recapitulate, considering the aforementioned points, the usage of social is increasing at such a rapid pace that it is inevitable, but if we regulate our time and not watch toxic content we can overcome most of the disadvantages.