Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As the question over who should be admitted into university arises, public's opinion is polarized into two main streams: one that favours young students with excellent academic results and the other group who believes in the power of masses. This essay is going to examine two major factors of age and performance and their effects on education at the university level to draw a conclusion about the previous two claims.

First of all, the requirement of age has the main purpose of assuring that potential students should be higher ready to learn and able to achieve a certain level of success. From this aspect, candidates who are either too young or old may have to struggle with life and study at the university. For example, a teenager whose age is between 13 and 15 should not be ready to live an independent life which requires far more social skills than the person has. In another development, an elder student who often suffers some health problems is also less likely to achieve any academic success than their younger counterparts.

Another major factor that is needed to be taken into consideration is how well the student performed in their past studying. For the reason that education at university level often includes some insightful studies and researches that require certain basic backgrounds in the fields, it is indispensable for universities to set an academic standard for their school admission. If masses of individuals without any proven studying result in the specific area are allowed into university, the teaching and training quality will be seriously compromised. A good example of this could be a course that trains future doctors can never work well if its students have little to no knowledge in the field of biology.

After careful examination of these factors, it can be concluded that the only problem with the first claim is that it lacks an extent to which the term "young" can be understood while the other argument appears to carry more drawbacks than any potential advantages. In my opinion, setting standards and requirements for university admission has to be treated with great attention due to their close relationship with the educational outcome.