Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

In recent years, it has been increasingly common to see high school seniors delay pursuing college after they just have graduated instead of being entitled to university education. However, there are some individuals who believe that it is compulsory to embark on higher education. From my perspective, this trend may bring more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that delayed university enrollment has an abundance of benefits that pre-college students should consider before moving to university. Firstly, the opportunity to enrich life experiences and hone practical skills through travel in several countries. In fact, traveling abroad contain the chance to achieve a second language as well as enable their independence and self-sufficiency, which enrich the life experiences of the high school seniors. Moreover, the spare time gives them a reasonable period to make a certain decision on their major as well as identify a suitable career path through the vocational training courses. For example, instead of moving to university, the students can particular in an entry-level job at first as well as cultivate the relevant skills, which will be useful for the major education when they resume it. In addition, it will increase the opportunity to be acquired after graduation through the experiences and the practical training to compare with the freshman.

On the other hand, besides the aforementioned advantages, the gap year takers may have faced the significant disadvantages of having a year-long break. In fact, the lack of education in formal schooling is affected the learning process of the students that they will have to adapt to the intense study schedules, especially when the high school seniors, who lose momentum and lag behind the other students. Notwithstanding, the undergraduates seem hard to particular in a part-time job, while the demand for college qualification in the job market is compulsory as well as the longward of knowledge and experiences, it is impractical for high school leavers to save up money and develop the critical trait. Therefore, the lack of education may affect the determination to provide an educated workforce, which impact can be desperately harmful to the boost-socio development.

In conclusion, high school seniors can determine exactly their major as well as identify the career path through the several months. However, there is no doubt that pursuing college without the gap year is increase the chance to achieve information and boost the process.