Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The decision to have children at a later age is becoming increasingly in modern life. This trend can be explained by a combination of factors in this essay and I personally think that the disadvantages of this likely outweigh the advantages.

It is necessary to clearly understand the causes of this phenomenon. Among them, many adults these days tend to place a large emphasis on career development. Fields such as finance, technological and healthcare can be rather dynamic, thus requiring a significant investment of time. Consequently, there is no doubt that concentration on profession would take time away both males and females. Therefore, thanks to the development of medical, women can afford to delay childbirth via pills or medical procedures. This reason proves that having children at a later age depends on the circumstances and preferences of adults.

Consequently, this decision could bring both positive and negative impacts on society. Firstly, one of the main advantages is children can grow up in financially secure households. This provides children with many resources and opportunities. However, older parents might struggle to keep up with their offspring. For parents whose age gap with their children is significant, their levels of energy as well as enthusiasm might not be the same as younger parents. This would translate to less physical and emotional support that a child could receive from older parents than younger ones. Thus it could be seen that this development possesses more drawbacks than benefits.

In conclusion, although this decision has many benefits, it is usually more disadvantageous to give birth at a later age. Regardless of the base of preference and circumstance of time having children, I argue that it should not come too late.