As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming
more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some
people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural
identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
Globalisation has become integrated through the global network of trade,
transportation, communication and immigration. It is feared by many to eventually
bring an end to cultural identity. However, I am convinced that not only will
globalization help retain and improve local cultures, but it also will strengthen
cultural bonds between distant communities.
First of all, people can realise how they are different from others in distant lands,
which may lead to their interest in learning about other cultures. This means every
culture will have to preserve and present its unique features such as local cuisine or
craftsmanship in order to maintain foreign interest in itself and have something to
offer in competition with other communities. As a result, a sense of cultural identity
can be reinforced – even rekindled and restored where it has already been lost.
Secondly, cultures in different parts of the world familiarise themselves with the
ceremonies, food and clothes of other people, it is highly likely that they will begin
to improve on their own, thus developing more efficient ways of life while retaining
their original characteristics.
Finally, although some people might think that the aforementioned “trade” of
cultural features can doom the unique identity of a culture, they need to consider that
this will not necessarily result in local people abolishing their culture and fully
embracing another. Instead, the communication and exchange involved in
globalisation can improve understanding and tolerance in the international
community, which certainly can help with the conservation of older cultures and
their sense of identity.
In conclusion, I think if the positive aspects of globalisation are considered and
stressed, it is not likely to pose any threats to the cultural identity of local
communities and will instead contribute to it in a variety of ways.