The media should limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities which usually involve very little risk.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The negative information is increasingly popular in contemporary society. While I agree that social networks encourage people to do risky activities in a few aspects, I would argue that the media should not limit what they tell us.

There are several reasons why I believe that social media should limit bad news. Firstly, it may have a negative impact on readers such as it can affect their mental health by making them frightened. As a result, it influences their behaviour then they do not do it anymore. For example, some findings about the high crime rates in urban areas or plane crashes make the traveler feel anxious then they decide not to travel anymore, so this can lead to the reduction in economic growth. Secondly, bad information also can manipulate children. This can cause bad behaviours in them such as becoming rude or disrespectful to other people or it can make them always think in a pessimistic way.

However, I firmly convinced that the bad news should not be limited by the media. People have to decide and filter the news before they read it then they should take responsibility for what news they have read. Beside, for the safety of children's souls, the government or parents should caution them for not reading the negative information. Another reason why social networks should not do that is because they have a duty in providing full news for citizens to help them know what is happening and they can avoid doing it.

In conclusion, although I agree that bad information should be limited by the media because of a few reasons such as it can have a negative impact on readers, I am strongly convinced that social media should not do that because people should know and avoid bad news. It is recommended that the government should give the fine for extremely negative articles.