In the modern world, schools are no longer necessary because there is so much information available through the internet that children can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of cutting-edge technology, there are abundant knowledge and information that are available on the Internet serving study purposes. In fact, students today can acquire lessons from two primary sources, both online and offline. As a result, several people claim that educational institutions will be unnecessary in the foreseeable future for teaching students, and they can learn many lessons on the Internet. From my standpoint, I wholeheartedly disagree with this contention, and this essay will shed light on my point of view.

One major ground behind the reason why schools still play a significant role in educating students is the responsibility of teachers are crucial in shaping students’ behavior. Even though with the support of advanced technology, learners get instant access to the wealth of global knowledge at their fingertips, there are numerous information sources that they cannot determine the accuracy. Consequently, they are more likely to misunderstand and get the wrong perception about sensitive issues, particularly when it comes to political matters. Therefore, educators will impart exact knowledge and social information to students, and promptly adjust if there is wrong in their perception.

Furthermore, schools are considered as a small society, which might provide practical skills for students before engaging in the real world. At schools, students have more opportunities to interact with friends and teachers, thereby developing communication skills. For instance, children often take part in group discussions about social situations that they may encounter in real life, or prepare a presentation together. From these experiences, they may reinforce not only communication skills but also teamwork skills, a useful tool for them to apply in their future career.

In conclusion, although there are potential benefits that students can obtain from the Internet, I firmly believe that schools still are a key element contributing to the holistic development of each student, both solid knowledge and transferable skills. Therefore, educators and parents should join hands to balance online and offline learning with the aim of making study progress effectively.