Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people believe that today traditional and religious festivals became meaningless. All that one wants to see there is something vivid and thrilling, without getting into history, without remembering and respecting the past of their country and nation. Personally, I suppose that it is a wrong point of view. In my opinion, people can enjoy themselves and respect the traditions or their nation at a time.

Traditional festivals all over the world teach people humanity, morality and ethnics. Firstly, with nowadays technologies those festivals and concerts became a great deal more interesting to observe. So, people have started to visit them more often and started to know about their culture and history more. Secondly, such events make people closer. They show all the beauty and individuality of the country, nation and traditions. As an example we can take international spring holidays in Ukraine such as Maslenitsa and Easter. There are many traditions which people still respect. For instance, making pankakes on Maslenitsa and going to church with Easter basket fulled with eggs and pie on Easter.

Concerning remembering traditions, today, in modern society some people have forgotten or did not know the history of their nation. Nevertheless, it cannot be said that today it is absolutely meaningless or forgotten because many people, especially older generation, tries to give us all the information that they have got. Moreover, they are doing a huge job to make it widespread and respected, those organize festivals, concerts and other events to promote traditional and religious holidays.

To summarise, it is definetly true that many people have forgotten their history but it does not mean that ones go to those festivals only to enjoy themselves. Because traditional and religious holidays are important and many people try to make them more popular and share their knowledge with others.