The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the issue of alternative forms of vehicles for cars is of current interest because the level of population is growing sharply what causes the increase of the transport using. Since 1888, about 29 million cars have been made in Britain. However, today people started to think about forbidding cars and usage of non-motorized vehicles such as rickshaws. Personally, I partly agree with the idea that alternative forms of transport should be used and international laws introduced to control car ownership because the amount of cars affects people in a negative way.

From the one side, cars are very convenient in use. Firstly, one can get to the place faster and with bigger comfort rather than on underground railway or by bike. Secondly, sometimes the price for maintaining the car is more reasonable than permanent using, for example, a taxi because frequent long distance travelling with a taxi driver usually costs more.

From another side, using this kind of vehicle has many disadvantages. First of all, it is the emission of gases and, as a result, air pollution. There are many environmentally friendly kinds of transport but most of them are not as convenient as cars. For instance, bike and rollers are useful for person's health but mostly it takes a great deal more time to get to the place with their help. What is more, in many countries there are no cycling lanes, so people put their health in risk. In addition, there are traffic jams due to the amount of vehicles. Sometimes ones cannot get to their work in time even going by car and because of this people become stressed and disappointed.

Finally, I believe that there should be used fewer cars to save the planet and its atmosphere. Nevertheless, they cannot be forbidden or encouraged by the international laws because cars are very comfortable and time saving vehicles. Therefore, it only depends on humanity whether they will change their way of using transport or not.