As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is an undeniable fact that for most of his lifetime, a person will be spending his days within the four walls of his office. Majority of the world’s workforce operate in an eight-hour work shift and for some, the office hours eat up even the rest period in the evenings. Thus, the impact of job satisfaction to a person’s overall well-being can never be estimated.

There are a number of conditions which may contribute to one’s level of satisfaction as regards his work. For one, an individual will generally be in a happier disposition if he is doing what he loves to. In this case, a person’s hobbies and interest will come into play as these factors will determine whether or not he will enjoy his duties in the workplace. Another thing worth considering is the overall office environment created by the dynamics of the relationships of the company. An employee must feel that his output is being appreciated not only by his superiors but also by his colleagues. This is usually the reason why many organizations give out service awards to their workers. Finally, it cannot be denied that money does play an important role in job satisfaction. An employee has to be well-compensated for him to feel that he is laboring for a worthwhile cause.

Unfortunately, job satisfaction is something that both employers and employees have to work on in order to be achieved. The reality is that people end up working on jobs they do not like due to a host of economic demands. Many employees also feel unappreciated and undervalued by their companies because employee recognition often times has to take a back seat in an organization’s list of priorities. On the aspect of compensation, it is immediately observable that those who do all the tedious task and manual labor get paid the least.

To conclude, the importance of job satisfaction should not be undermined as this is very crucial in increasing productivity of working individuals. Employees and their employers must work hand-in-hand in increasing job satisfaction.