Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The quantity of transnational companies is progressively flourishing in developing nations. This essay will suggest that creating job opportunities is the biggest advantage of this and the risk of outweighing domestic businesses is the primary disadvantage.

Due to the need of enhancing their own workforce, multinational companies usually focus on employing hard-working and gifted workers from various countries. As a result, this brings about career opportunities for numerous people, helping them to cover the costs of living and maintain work/life balance. It is remarkable that when employees are satisfied with the benefits earned from foreign businesses, they are in a bid to spend more efforts on working, leading to higher and better capacity. According to a recent survey of Vietnamese government, over 85 percent of Samsung staff claimed that thanks to the increase in number of company’s branches, it is much easier for them to climb the career ladder or get promotion, thus improve their income remarkably.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, the expansion of transnational companies means the appearance and rise of powerful competitors of local businesses. In fact, consumers have a tendency to choose products made by overseas units due to their higher quality in comparison with domestic ones. Should local companies not struggle to grapple for existence, the potential of bankruptcy will be predictable, leading to the unbalance of sides in the economical battle. For example, in 2010, 95 percent of Thai buyers said that they preferred products from other countries, such as the USA or Spain because they have more beautiful shapes as well as better quality.

In conclusion, the flourish of transnational businesses and organizations can be advantageous if it provides job opportunities to local individuals, however, the potential drawback is that it may be challenging for native companies to compete with these worldwide ones.