Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts in the work. Do you agree or disagree?

Since prehistoric time to date, the exhibition of artifacts and artworks in museums and art galleries facilitates humans to unveil and decipher a myriad of historical facts. It is undisputable that national or world histories are two separated but interrelated areas; however, recently there is an emerging idea regarding whether art institution should only exhibit works presenting domestic historical issues. I, as a far left supporter, assert that it will be a shame if this viewpoint is seriously applied into reality due to some rational reasons.

On the one hand, people lean on the idea that there is no border in history so that laterally presenting domestic rather and international historical artworks is acceptable. In terms of history, a past event eventuating might have a strong involvement of several countries around the world; therefore, to fully understand and impartially evaluate a problem, further digging into world history is required. Additionally, art galleries and museums are where those who desire for intensive knowledge come first to search for necessary information. This proves for the correctness of the statement that not only works demonstrating national history but also worldwide historical arts must be exhibited in these places.

When it comes to culture aspect, its diversity is highly appreciated for thousands of year in which people praise and contemplate the difference among countries. With the advanced development of technology, distinct cultural information is overwhelmingly spreading on the internet, it, however, is not enough. To satisfy human’s curiosity, people hope to touch, feel and experience culture as much as possible. That is why international culture also needs to be appeared in both museums and art galleries. Children, for example, ask to be taken to museums just to see how an Egyptian’s mummy looks like.

In conclusion, to form well-rounded perspectives and satisfy humans’ desire for real experience, museums and art galleries have to displace both local and international artworks.