Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts in the work. Do you agree or disagree?

The growing concerns regarding whether or not museums and art galleries should prioritize works that depict the history and culture of the host country over those from other regions of the world. From my perspective, I do not completely assent to this outlook because of a couple of rational reasons below.

On the one hand, museums and art galleries not only assist the preservation of traditional culture and customs but also contribute to honoring the historical values of the nation. First, these places aid in retaining traditional culture. With the rapid development of modern society, while urbanization has gradually removed the monuments which contain historical validity, the exhibit of local masterpieces is the ideal manner for sustaining the traditional qualities. Thus, people easily access these values. In addition, museums and art galleries are locations where domestic history and culture are honored. People will obtain a better awareness of their country by visiting these museums and galleries, as well as the country's golden eras and dark periods. As a result, the displays serve an educational purpose by instilling patriotism and promoting a sense of national pride among the people.

On the other hand, the display of international works plays an important role in promoting the economy through tourism and enriching people's weltanschauung. The objects of art from other parts of the world, especially masterpieces of famous artists are the most effective decoys for attracting tourists to the countries that own them. Take the Louvre museum as an example, one of the destinations not to be missed when visiting France, it owns a vast array of human art assets including over a million pieces. The representative works in this museum are Venus de Milo and Monalisa. This is the reason why more than 10 million tourists come here every year. Besides, the international artworks bring numerous knowledge and human civilization. People have a chance to meet insight into other cultures; hence, their world-views are broadened. People will have a new outlook from art aspects, which makes them more professional and knowledgeable.

In conclusion, museums and galleries' eventual purpose is to promote knowledge of all types; nevertheless, museums and art galleries should balance and make reasonable adjustments.