Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars.

Why is this happening?

Is it a positive or negative development?

Artificial intelligence has shown enormous advance with the development of technology and now we see the applications of it in driving of automobiles as well. This is probably due to the demand for minimising traffic accidents and this should be seen as a positive development since it might save many lives by preventing road traffic accidents that are linked to human errors.

Many peoples` lives are being lost on the roads because of traffic accidents every day and over than 95% of them are caused by human errors so there is a necessity to overcome this problem. Tackling this problem may not be so easy, however, with the advancement of artificial intelligence, controlling vehicles safely might reduce the number of accidents significantly. For example, Google has introduced a new car uses artificial intelligence which can identify dangerous situations by monitoring sensors and can alert the driver or take emergency control of the car in order to avoid an accident. Emergency braking, cross traffic detectors, blind spot monitoring, and driver-assist steering can help avoid accidents and save lives in the process.

I believe that using artificial intelligence in driving cars should be welcome as a revolutionary development and should be supported by all of us. All the injuries and fatalities that are caused by traffic accidents linked to human errors, can be prevented with a help of this new technology. The unpredictability of human behaviour and human conditions, for example, driving after alcohol intake or having a heart attack while operating a vehicle that most probably leads to a catastrophic accident can all be avoided by AI operated cars.

In conclusion, using AI in driving cars is an incredible development and should be encouraged to be used in future cars in order to eradicate human errors on the roads. By doing so, I believe we can save many lives.