Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Describe pros and cons of genetically modified foods.

In light of the proliferation of overpopulation, there is a widely-held view among people about the prevalence of genetically-engineered is detrimental to humans or not. While the utilization of this kind of food might bring some beneficial impacts on a global scale, there are certain negative influences that should be concerned.

On the one hand, it is no doubt true that foods produced through genetic modification have been assisted persons to tackle substantial issues to some extent. First, in order to create new crop variants, scientists have used a wide range of chemicals through several rigorous tests, which results in substantial crop variants such as tomatoes and broccoli bursting with cancer-fighting chemicals. That kind of crops would be able to grow in places where non-GM crops die, helping address the urgent problems of food shortage and hunger, especially when the earth’s population burgeons exponentially. Furthermore, this would facilitate crop yields, offering crop varieties that resist pests and disease, which undoubtedly acts as a stimulus to reduce the dependence on the land farms, thereby achieving sustainable development.

On the other hand, the action that inserting genes into an organism from an entirely different organism might trigger undesired side effects, posing a potential risk to human health. For instance, American scientists indicated that vitamin-enhanced crops of sweet potatoes caused allergic reactions in a small percentage of customers who purchased that product and even had put those persons in life-threatening conditions. Moreover, in order to maximize crop yields of bioengineered foods, the excessive consumption of chemical fertilizers and pesticides would not only decrease the nutrients level of such foods but also incentivize the potential development of herbicide-resistant weeds, which might breed environmental degradation.

In conclusion, it seems to me that genetically modified products might advantageous for human beings, however, more future researches should be performed to investigate the unpleasant consequences of genetically engineered foods.