Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Everyone wants to possess a wealthy fortune and live a happy life without any controls from their boss or other powerful people. Consequently, many people nowadays choose to be self-employed rather than be hired by a company or corporation. When being a boss of themselves, individuals can have more independence as well as opportunities to challenge and prove themselves. However, this phenomenon also has some drawbacks, which can lead to bankruptcy or have negative impacts on humans' mental health.

To start with, many people from different ages decide to run their own business because of the ideal freedom and chances they have from this kind of employment. People don't have to obey others' rules or satisfy their influential directors and they can decide on their own which is the best for their life. Moreover, being self-employed offer many opportunities for individuals, especially the young, to challenge themselves and gain invaluable experience from their own failure.Therefore, people can become more well-rounded and cool-headed when facing difficulties in their life. Furthermore, to be said, this is a perfect occasion for people to show their talent and prove their ingenuity with their family and friends, which can also bring pride and happiness to their life.

Nevertheless, besides offering individuals many independence and possibility, this trend can make them become bankrupt and cause extremely negative consequences. Not everyone has the talent to organise and operate a business on their own. A non-professional director can make his company go bust because of his lack of experience and knowledge. Besides, in order to bring profits and be respected by the company's staff, the board must be a person who is smart in both communicating and managing his employees. Therefore being a boss of themselves is a real challenge which has a lot of requirements and if they are not a determined and strong-minded people, this difficult job can bring plenty of negative impacts on their mental health, which can also lead to abnormal mentality and suicidal

In conclusion, thanks to the ideal independence and opportunities that "being your own boss" offers to individuals, more and more people choose to be self-employed. However, this phenomenon has chances to cause greatly unexpected consequences to their mental health and thus their normal life.