Nowadays, more and more women decide to have children later in their life? Why? Does the advantage or disadvantage?

In recent years, the trend of delaying parenthood has gained popularity among millennial women. This trend can be put down to today fast-paced life and other several impediments but the merits it brings far overshadows its demerits for some rationales outlined below.

There are two key reasons as to why many women strongly advocate late childbirth. Firstly, more young people nowadays decide to give priority over their career since working to them is way more crucial than giving birth to a baby, which may distract them from their passion and spare them little time to spend for themselves. To cite an example, such inflexible occupations like emergency doctors or flight attendants require women to constantly switch their working hours or work night shifts. As a result, they are inundated with both their work and childcare, thus rendering their children’s upbringing ineffective. Secondly, rearing children which demands a huge budget ranging from feeding to educational fees may be an uphill task for the young who are still inexperienced to strike a balance between their working life and family.

However, it is worth noticing that postponing parenthood actually pays dividends when being seen from a different perspective. First and foremost, women often have a baby when they are financially stable and independent, which means their children can adopt a better childcare with more advanced parenting skills and be ensured proper education. To be more specific, children who are raised by competent and sophisticated parents are proved to be more intelligent and thoughtful compared to those whose family background is unstable. Besides, a great deal of studies have proved that giving birth later in life could mean that women live a longer life. In a case study of Menopause, women who had their kid after 33 could double the chance of living to 95 or older as opposed to those who had babies at the age of 29. In addition, 30-year-old moms also report having higher energy, better fitness and fewer aches and pains than 20-year-old moms.

To conclude, delaying the role of being a mother is mainly due to financial-related issues. However, this trend obviously brings about more notable benefits that are advantageous to both mothers and their children.