In this day and age, how people live when they become older and older has drawn a lot of attention from the public. It is said that some older inhabitants prefer living in retirement communities with people at the same age to living with their children. While I accept that this trend may have some benefits, I strongly believe that its drawbacks are greater.

To commence with, one of the benefits of this trend is that the elder will be looked after more carefully in these retirement communities. To be more specific, in some good retirements communities, there are many nurses who are responsible to take care of the elder with things such as: help them to eat, to laugh or even to take a shower. Hence, older people will be healthier. Moreover, living in such communities means that the elder can make friends with people at the same age with them. Therefore, they can easily share the feelings which can not be shared with their relatives. Last but not least, a family with too many generations can face many problems cause by generation differences in thoughts and actions.

On the flip of the coin, this trend could have its disadvantages as well. First, the older people are, the more love they want to share and earn. For instance, they are likely to see and to talk with their children whenever they can. Second, families with more than three generations is different from those with two generations. For example, the elder has experience which can only be learnt after ages, these are such good things to teach children. Third, in some certain countries, their traditions encourage adult children to take after their parents in their own, not by sending them to retirement communities. It is proved that in some Asia countries, the trend of building retirement communities is not popular.

All in all, while there are some benefits of the trend to send the elder to retirement communties, I still agree that its drawbacks outweight. Children should find out the best way to take care of their parents, no matter how old they are.